Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Advisory Committee

Sharing knowledge. Sharing Hope.
Skip Navigation LinksHome   |   About CIBMTR   |   Who We Are   |   Committees   |   Administrative Committees   |   Advisory Committee
  • Print
  • Share

Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is a worldwide group that reviews and approves CIBMTR activities.


  • Oversee all scientific activities of the CIBMTR
  • Review policies of the organization including use of CIBMTR data
  • Review progress of ongoing studies including publications reports


  • Members to represent transplant centers in North America, Central and South America, Europe and Asia/Australia/Africa contingencies are elected by the CIBMTR Assembly for three-year terms
  • Members to represent donor centers, collection centers, patients, and individuals with expertise in business and ethics are appointed by the Advisory Committee
  • Ex-officio members also represent the National Cancer Institute (NCI), the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI), the National Institute for Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) and the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Office of Naval Research (ONR) and CIBMTR leadership


In-person Advisory Committee meetings are conducted once annually during the BMT Tandem Meetings. Meetings are open to the public and to federal representatives, except on rare occasions when deliberations pose a conflict of interest (such as in center confidentiality). Ad hoc task forces meet by teleconference as needed to address specific issues.

Elected Members
Paul Martin, MD, PhD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA
Chair Elect: Rob Soiffer, MD, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, MA
Vice Chairs
  North America: Paul Carpenter, MD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA
  Europe: Charles Craddock, MD, PhD, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, NHS Trust, Birmingham, United Kingdom
  Central/South America: Nelson Hamerschlak, MD, PhD, Albert Einstein Hospital, Sao Paolo, Brazil
  Asia/Africa/Australia: Mahmoud Aljurf, MD, MPH, King Faisal Specialist Hospital Center & Research, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia 
Members at Large
Karen Ballen, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA
Steven Pavletic, MD, MS, NIH-NCI Experimental Transplantation and Immunology Branch, Bethesda, MD
    Navneet Majhail, MD, MS, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland, OH
    Miguel-Angel Perales, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY
Marcel van den Brink, MD, PhD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY
Kirsten Williams, MD, Children's National Medical Center, Washington, DC
  Non North America: Jane Apperley, MBChB, MD, FRCP, Imperial College / Hammersmith Hospital, London, United Kingdom
Hildegard Greinix, MD, Medical University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria
    William Hwang, MBBS, MRCP, Singapore, General Hospital, Singapore
Alok Srivastava, MD, Christian Medical College, Vellore, India
​Jeffrey Szer, MD, Royal Melbourne Hospital City Campus, Victoria, Australia
    Afonso Vigorito, MD, PhD, Unicamp - Hemocentro, Campinas, Brazil

Appointed Members
​ASBMT Representative: Christopher Bredeson, MD, MSc, The Ottawa Hospital Blood & Marrow Transplant Program, Ottawa, ON
​Bioethicist: Steven Joffe, MD, MPH, Abramson Cancer Center University of Pennsylvania Medical Center, Philadelphia, PA
​Business Representative: Theresa Franco, BSN, MSN, The Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE
Collection Center Representative: Yvonne Ybarra, GenCure, San Antonio, TX
​Cord Blood Bank Representative: Elizabeth Shpall, MD, M.D. Anderson Cord Blood Bank, Houston, TX​
​Donor Center Representative: Jason Gangewere, NMDP, Philadelphia, PA

Patient/Family Representatives
(Co-Chairs, Consumer Advocacy Committee):

Jeffrey Haertling, Tierra Verde, FL

Maureen Beaman, Milwaukee, WI

Ex Officio Committee Members
Executive Director: Jeffrey Chell, MD, NMDP, Minneapolis, MN
Chief Scientific Director: Mary M. Horowitz, MD, MS, CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Chief Statistical Director (Interim): Mei-Jie Zhang, PhD, CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Associate Scientific Director SCTOD: J. Douglas Rizzo, MD, MS, CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Associate Scientific Director CIBMTR Minneapolis: Dennis Confer, MD, NMDP, Minneapolis, MN

​Vice President CIBMTR Minneapolis:

Roberta King, CIBMTR, Minneapolis, MN
Administrator CIBMTR Milwaukee: Patricia Steinert, PhD, MBA, CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI​
​Vice President Patient Services: ​Elizabeth Murphy, EdD, RN, NMDP, Minneapolis, MN
Senior Research Advisor: Daniel Weisdorf, MD, CIBMTR, Minneapolis, MN
NMDP/HRSA Project Officer: Shelley Grant, MPH
NMDP/Navy Project Officer: Robert Hartzman, MD
MCW/HRSA Project Officer: Nawraz Shawir, MBBS
MCW/NCI Project Officer: Bill Merritt, PhD
MCW/NHLBI Project Officer: Nancy DiFronzo, PhD
MCW/NIAID Project Officer: Linda Griffith, MD, PhD
Nominating Committee Chair: Stella Davies, MBBS, PhD, MRCP, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, OH

Last Updated: 12/30/2016 2:26 PM